Elect 0004 ~ White Shirts

Mormon Origami - Index Cards with Message on Back - Loved the Creativity
Mormon Origami Index Cards with message on back – Loved the Creativity

The knock on the door to my home jerked me from my routine of maintaining refuge. I opened the door to a couple of white shirts with ties and smiling faces sent from the Mormon Church. For some reason I was open and attracted to the prospect of discussing spiritual things. I arranged to meet them to protect the integrity of the refuge and to provide a comfortable setting for the missionaries to present their story. I was up front that the prospect of me becoming a Mormon was next to nil, but they assured me that it was not necessary that I join the church. The secondary goal of their meeting was to encourage spiritual development. We had the cards on the table and it was time to engage.

Our meetings were held at the local LDS (Latter Day Saints) church. I was given a tour of the church building on our first meeting. For the past three weeks I have attended their church services and every Sunday they partake of the communion with torn up loaf bread and water. I have come to see that this is pragmatic if you take of communion every Sunday. During the course of our private meetings I have seen many missionaries with two that are primary for contact with me. Many are from the American West but I did encounter a South African. I have enjoyed encountering so many different personalities.

I have read the synopsis material they have provided that asserts Joseph Smith a prophet tasked with restoring the Christian Gospel, and their particular take on the salvation message. I was also given a copy of the Book of Mormon and I will talk more of what that reading inspires a bit later on.

I am doing all this to follow the leading of my Gomu. My personology (See my about page) is able to endure and flex with new ideas. The Mormons do not hold to the trinity in doctrine, but in practice I have found that to matter little in daily living. There is the new discussion of a pre-Earth existence and their reality that we as spirit beings planned what we would endure and encounter here on Earth. I like the idea that has the potential to alter life perspective and encourage a relinquishment of the victim’s card in life. Our life is not just part of God’s plan, it is part of our own. How empowering is that!

Another new idea is that the Fall in the Garden of Eden as also part of God’s plan. Without going into great detail I find the overall three pillar plan to be quite resonant. It is resistant to the Roman plan of “In Hoc Signo Vinces.” I like the fact that this church was established in the wet cement period of American history and that it is useful in the perpetuation of the Revolutionary process ignited in this “promised land.”

 

Leave a Reply

